There are a couple of items to note regarding next semester’s modules in Succeed.
- The Library Resources / SLS links under the Learning Resources menu will be (or should be for rollovers) deleted as they are being moved to exploit some of the new functionality in Succeed that allows them to be easily updated. Further information at:
2. One thing for instructors to be aware of is the proposal below which comes about from student comments regarding redundant information and difficulty navigating in Succeed modules. (The full document, of which this is the preamble, will be available in due course).
Copying Succeed Course Content
In order to keep modules tidy it has been proposed that a new version be created each time a course is taught. Previously modules would have been “rolled over” with their entire content but as files are updated this leads to a cluttered file manager and perhaps outdated links. It will still be possible to request rollover but the default will be a module based on a standard template for your division.
It is possible to reuse previous content by:
a) copying some or all of the existing links into an existing (or newly created) module but with some caveats
b) copying individual files across (either singly or multiples) and then creating a
link to those
c) Recommended is using the NEW FEATURE: the Content Collection (this replaces the file manager)
The Content Collection provides central file storage for all content. When creating content for your course, you can link to items anywhere in the Content Collection. When you change an item in the Content Collection, all links to the item reflect those changes. Using the links in the Control Panel, you can access the content in your present course, in all courses you teach, in all of your organisations (eventually), or in all of the courses in the institution. Thus, only one file needs to be maintained.
In order to organize material initially, instructors will need to maintain access to previous modules, however, it is possible to remove oneself after materials are recycled by going into the old module and then: 1. Course Management 2. Users and Groups 3. Users 4. Select your entry and then 5. Remove Users from Course
An error message results because you are no longer a member of that course but the module will disappear from the My Courses list in My Succeed. (If you find that something has been forgotten your ELD rep can always restore access.)
If there are any queries please contact ELD.